fitformyprinces

Living healthy as a busy Mom with two little boys

Fitting it in July 10, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — fitformyprinces @ 11:48 pm

I, like many people (especially Mom’s), am very busy. Right now I’m fortunate enough to be on maternity leave, but typically I work both a full-time and a part-time job as well as care for my home, husband, pets, and kids. And like many women out there, I have spent my time caring for everyone EXCEPT me. I have come to realize, however, that part of caring for my children is caring for their Mother. It is important to me to be able to live a long life for my boys and that requires me to be healthy.

Today I planned to start the Lindsay Brin 60-day slimdown program. Afternoon naps sounded like the perfect time, however, I didn’t get both boys down at the same time, plus while I am on maternity leave for my full-time job, I am a contractor for part-time and have returned to that job. I have a minimum number of hours to get in each week so I needed to devote that time to work. So I planned on getting the first day’s scheduled workout done after the boys went to sleep. C (2 1/2 years old) went down easily and was in bed by 9:30. B (almost 3 weeks old) was another story. He woke up and was hungry and once I was done nursing him, he just would not go to sleep. If I put him down I knew he’d cry and wake up C and/or my husband. So we sat and rocked and rocked and rocked until I got him to sleep. At that point it was 10:45pm and I was getting very sleepy. My inner dialogue was battling it out “Start the slimdown tomorrow instead, it’s no big deal” vs “No, Julie, you said you would do it today, just do it and get it done.”

The latter won. I did the first workout and now 11:45pm at night I am done working out, and getting ready to go to sleep. I may pay for it in the morning when I have to get up with my boys as my husband will be back at work early. But, in the long run it will be worth it. Getting fit will require sacrifices, however not getting fit will possibly result in my not being aroung for my boys while they’re growning up. And that is a sacrifice that I am unwilling to make.

In any event, Day 1 done. 59 more to go on this program.

 

Leave a comment