fitformyprinces

Living healthy as a busy Mom with two little boys

Blessings August 27, 2012

Filed under: General musings — fitformyprinces @ 2:35 pm

Sorry I have been neglecting this blog.  I swear I’m busier now that I’m staying at home than I was working full time.  Somedays it would be nice to add a few hours to the day, however, since I’d have to spend those extra hours chasing the kids around I still wouldn’t get anything extra done.  : )

I’ve also been having some woe is me time lately.  I’ve been struggling with feeling underappreciated, only getting to see my husband a couple weekends a month, and just the general financial problems with trying to sell a house in this economy.  Even though I’m generally a positive person, it’s been hard not to feel negative about all these situations.  But then I hear of things that family, friends, or random strangers are going through and it really brings me back around to how blessed I really am.

1. I have two healthy handsome little boys.  Really there is no greater blessing than this as far as I’m concerned.  I know many people who have struggled with infertility, some who have had pregnancy losses (multiple losses in some cases), and some who are currently having issues with their pregnancies that could result in losses (one is twins).  The fact that I’ve been able to conceive my two children without problem, having very easy pregnancies, and have two completely healthy children is miraculous to me.  I thank God each and every day for the gift of them in my life.

2. My husband (for the most part) is healthy.  I can’t say he is 100% healthy because he has had some health stuff going on, but nothing that is life threatening in any way.  I can’t say that for everyone I know.  A girl I went to high school with lost her husband earlier this year.  I hear stories on the news all the time of husbands or wives who lose a spouse.

3. My parents (again for the most part) are healthy.  I’m nearly 35 years old and not ready yet to say goodbye so I’m very fortunate that they are presently healthy.  I have to say for the most part because my Dad did have a heart attack in 1996 when he was 48 years old, but since then he has incorporated a healthy lifestyle and is going strong.  Mom was diagnosed with diabetes 10 years ago or so but lost about 50 pounds and has completely reversed it.  I’d say compared to some people I know at their age (yes Mom and Dad, I’m outing you as both turning 65 this year), I’d say they’re healthy.  Having them alive and well is a huge blessing because they’re not only my parents, but my friends as well.  I cherish their advice and l love seeing them play with my kids.

4. My in-laws are still around.  Since my mother-in-law is still suffering so much after her stroke I can’t say that they are healthy, but considering we weren’t sure she was going to make it in July 2011 when she had the stroke it’s just a blessing that they are still here.

5. I am healthy.  Now I go to get a physical done on this Friday so who knows, I could get told I have some horrible disease then, but as of today I feel completely healthy.  It’s a blessing to have good enough health to spend time with my kids, to play hard with them, and to be able to go out and live life.  That same girl I went to high school with who lost her husband earlier in the year, is currently fighting for her life after being diagnosed with cancer just a few weeks after her husband unexpectedly passed away.

6. I have a roof over my head and food in my pantry.  I don’t have to fear that my children will go hungry or be unsafe.  This sadly isn’t the case for thousands (probably millions) of untold people around the world.

And there are many many many more things for which I have been Blessed but those are the most important and most relevant to a blog about healthy living.  When I reflect back on those things for which I have been Blessed, it definitely makes it easier to deal with those things that had been getting me down.  In other words, I would gladly feel underappreciated every single day if it meant that all my loved ones were healthy.  I’d take financial hardship anyday and have my family intact.

I think more people should focus more on what they have, rather than what they don’t have.  The world would definitely be a nicer place if that happened.

What is your greatest Blessing today?

 

Leave a Reply

