fitformyprinces

Living healthy as a busy Mom with two little boys

Hello again….. July 21, 2012

Filed under: General musings — fitformyprinces @ 3:59 pm

Wow … talk about a long break from blogging.  November 2011?  Very bad for me.

It just goes to show you how true it is that a working Mom is a hugely busy Mom.  When I returned to work after my maternity leave in October I pretty much fell off the face of blogging earth.  Life has certainly changed a lot in the past, what 8 months?

The good:  My family is all in good health.  The ‘princes’ are now 3 1/2 and 1.  “C” is pretty much nearly potty trained (insert the Hallelujah chorus) and “B” runs around like a pro.  Also I’m now a stay at home Mom (cue up the chorus again).  Staying at home with my boys has been a lifelong dream of mine and I am so lucky and Blessed to be able to be there for my kids.

The bad:  I’m not living with my husband anymore.  No we’re not ‘separated’ in the sense that troubled couples do that.  However, in order to free me up to stay at home, my husband accepted a new job.  We currently have two houses on the market (PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE SELL!) and so he has signed a year’s lease in a small apartment that is just not suited to our size family (two adults, two kids, two cats, and a large breed dog).  So where are the princes and I?  We’ve moved in with my in-laws.  Yes, I know I have this listed under ‘the bad’.  They’re not bad, just the whole thought that I’m in my mid-30’s now and living with ‘Mom and Dad’ again.  Sigh.  Not how I planned for my life to go at all.  However, a couple of years ago when my husband was entertaining another job option I told him that I would live anywhere if it meant I could be a stay at home Mom.  I never in my wildest dreams (or worst nightmares) thought it would mean living with his parents and not with him.  But overall it’s a win-win for us.  We get to save money (once these houses sell) so we can have a decent down payment for a new home in his new job location (Raleigh NC) and I’m here to help my in-laws since my Mother-in-law came home from the rehab center on June 1st after having her stroke just over a year ago.  I cook, do some light cleaning, and help with transferring my MIL when needed.

The ugly:  Blogging wasn’t really the only thing I quit last November.  I pretty much quit all exercising and watching what I ate.  For several months.  And I gained all the weight I’d lost back plus another 18 pounds.  : (   I started back at exercising and eating well on July 1st and weighed in at 215 pounds.  That’s nearly what I weighed when I was in my third trimester with each of my pregnancies.  How embarrassing.

But …. better to turn around and start working in the right direction than saying what the hell and continuing on my path of self-destruction.  I do have to set an example for my kids and I want to be able to play with them.  And I’m not able to do either well at over 200 pounds.  Luckily here I am just 3 weeks later and I’ve already lost 11 pounds (plus whatever I lost this week …. weigh in day is tomorrow) and I can feel my energy level higher than it has been in awhile.

As far as exercising goes I restarted the Firm Express system and have one week left.  I neglected to take before shots (since I’m living alone now and don’t really feel like asking my father-in-law to photograph my fatness in a bathing suit) but I did take measurements.  I’m hoping that I’ll have lost 15 pounds total by the time this is done.  I definitely want to re-do the 60 Day Slimdown by Lindsay Brin along with Couch to 5K that I did last summer, but since my treadmill did not follow me to the in-laws I’ll have to do all my runs outdoors….with kids in the double jogger.  So for my sake, and their’s I”m going to wait on doing that until the summer weather cools down a smidge.

 

Leave a Reply

