fitformyprinces

Living healthy as a busy Mom with two little boys

Down for the count October 24, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — fitformyprinces @ 10:21 pm

Life sure is funny sometimes.  I was getting into a bit of a schedule going back to work, taking care of 2 kids, 2 cats, 1 dog, and a husband, plus getting my workouts in.  It was starting to feel routine.

Then I got a phone call from my oldest son’s daycare 10 days ago saying I needed to pick him up since he had a 103 fever.  That started it.  I was so busy taking care of my ill son (and trying my best to keep my 3 month old away from him) that I didn’t work out that night.  Over the course of the last 4 days we have all gotten what I’ve started referring to as the viral crud.  It started (at least for me, I can’t speak for my husband or oldest son) as head congestion for a day, then sore throat for a day, and then chest congestion that will not quit.  I have been coughing so much over the last week and a half.  I have wanted to work out, but I have heard that if the cold is in your head that you can (provided it’s not too an intensity where you have trouble breathing), but that if it’s in your chest to rest.  So that’s what I have done. 

4 years ago I ran a marathon while suffering with bronchitis.  Yeah … it was stupid.  And I suffered for it.  Instead of getting over it in a few weeks, I ended up sick for months.  The marathon was the beginning of December and I didn’t start feeling better until late February.  Needless to say, I listen to my body now and rest when I have a chest cold.  So even though I have felt like a total sloth, I have rested. 

Today I did workout again.  I completed Week 2 of Firm Express, the Cardio + Sculpt DVD.  It felt good to get back at it.  Tomorrow night I’ll try running.  I still have a little bit of congestion in my chest but it’s much better.  We’ll see what happens when I try to run though.  I’d like to be able to do it nonstop, but if I end up having to walk for periods I’m ok with that.  Something is better than nothing.

On a positive note, I haven’t gained any weight back while I have been waiting this crud out.  I was completely surprised because I haven’t exactly been watching what I’ve been eating very well.  Yet another reason why breastfeeding is a beautiful thing.  : )

 

Leave a Reply

