fitformyprinces

Living healthy as a busy Mom with two little boys

You’ve gotta take care of you! September 4, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — fitformyprinces @ 10:16 am

So often you hear Mom’s explain their weight gain by saying they spent years caring for everyone else in their family’s that they didn’t have the time to care for yourself.  I’ve been guilty of similar thoughts myself.  After all, I only have so few hours a day with my children (when I’m working) so I want to spend every last second with them that I can.  And at the end of it, I’m too tired to even think about exercising. 

Well, this isn’t just a Mom issue.  My Mother-in-law is in a rehab center after suffering a massive stroke about 6 weeks ago.  My Father-in-law has not left her side for a single day since it happened other than to grab some quick meals, and to go home to sleep at night.  So he hasn’t gone to the fitness center and has been eating out almost exclusively for 6 weeks, while under the daily stress of wondering whether his wife of 49 years will recover enough to come home.  I think you can see where this is going.  Just this week he was taken to the ER because his blood pressure was spiking and he was disoriented.  And now he’s worried his pressure will stay high and he’ll have a stroke too. 

I know he was doing what he thought he needed to do to care for the love of his life.  He was putting her first and thinking of himself second.  But if he did end up having a stroke or heart attack he wouldn’t help her at all.  In fact, she’d be so worried about him, I believe, her own recovery would be at risk.

So, the moral of the story, as I see it, is that you have to make yourself a priority and find time to work out and eat well.  If not, you may not be around at all to take care of them.

That will be a huge challenge for me when my maternity leave is over in a month.  My current plan is to wake up early (5AM) to workout before work.  The daily timing of it may slightly vary based on when B wakes up to nurse.  In fact, to get my body use to this schedule I plan on waking early to work out starting after the holiday weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

