fitformyprinces

Living healthy as a busy Mom with two little boys

Magic Happy Pill July 31, 2011

Filed under: General musings — fitformyprinces @ 3:07 pm

Many kudos to all you single parents out there.  It is such hard work.  I know what you’re thinking, “But Julie, you’re married?  How can you possible know?”  Well, my husband left me.  Now don’t go freaking out, Mom (I know you’re reading this), it’s not a permanent thing.  He’s gone back to help his Dad out with his Mom as they transition her from the hospital to the rehab center.  So I again, am home alone to care for our 2 1/2 year old “C” and nearly 6 week old “B” by myself.  Normally, it’s not so bad because I’m very independent and like doing things for myself, so it doesn’t bother me when he travels.

Last night and this morning are a different story though. 

I was busy working so I didn’t get my workout done during afternoon nap time as usual.  So I waited until the boys went to sleep.  B went down after C at about 10pm so after I did Zumba for an hour it was after 11pm when I was done.  At that point I had too much energy to go to sleep so I was up unwinding until about 12:30AM.

B woke me up at 2:30 to nurse and then would not go back down.  So I was up with him until 5AM.  No sooner did I get B to sleep and close my own weary eyes when I heard C on the baby monitor waking up from a nightmare.  When I brought him back go the room to bunk with his brother and me, I noticed a gigantic centipede on the wall immediately over my pillow, and then scooted away out of sight once I returned with supplies to kill it.  Um, no, don’t think I’ll be catching anymore shut-eye in there.   It was close to 6 by the time I got us moved to the guest bed, settled down, and asleep.  Then C woke me up for the day at 8AM. 

Needless to say, running on very little sleep has not made me the most patient Mommy this morning.  So instead of putting it off until this evening again, I just got my workout in and feel much better.  Exercising is definitely my ‘happy pill’.  And that’s really one thing I like so much about Lindsay Brin’s system…the workouts are challenging, but quick so you can get it done and get back to your most important job….being a Mom.

 

Leave a Reply

